racing

Taylor Montemayor wins NAPA Ladies Night drags

Rob Nelson

SPECIAL TO THE GARDEN ISLAND

MANA — Taylor Montemayor won big at the NAPA Ladies Night drag races on Saturday, Aug. 12. Driving her 1986 Chevy S-10, Taylor eliminated a field of over 25 lady racers in bracket racing competition to take first place.

In her final round, going against Alma Koetje, she put down a 10.219 quarter-mile run at 124.78 miles per hour with an impressive 0.001 reaction time. Montemayor also took second place in the Super Pro class.

Todd Burns of NAPA
Auto Parts was at the drag
races to support NAPA's title race, Ladies Night. He
came with a truck load of
NAPA branded caps, footballs, and basketballs that
he gave out to the kids and
others in attendance.

He also had the "Wally" won by Ron Capps, NHRA Funny Car Champ, with him on display.

"It was an amazing night and I'm honored to sponsor the Ladies Night race," Burns said. "Congrats to all the ladies who came out to race and hopefully everyone had a fun time. Congratulations to Taylor on the victory!"

The top four finishers shared a \$2,000 prize purse thanks to NAPA Auto Parts

Winner: Taylor Montemayor, 1986 S-10, ET 10.219, Dial-In 10.10, MPH 124.78

Runner up: Alma Koetje, 1998 Corvette, ET 12.249, Dial-In 12.20, MPH 111.95

Semi-finalists: Noe Kaya, 2001 Tacoma and Zailea Lawrence-White, 1968 Camaro

The top two finishers in all the classes

▶ Top Gun: Zailea Lawrence, 1968 Camaro, 9.303 elapsed time (ET), 9.23 Dail-In, 141.31 mph; Manny Lawrence, 1957 Thunderbird, 7.759 ET, 7.70 Dail-In, 178.44 mph ▶ Pro ET: Jason Barros, 1968 Camaro, 10.886 ET, 10.79 Dail-In, 123.29 mph; Mary Kealoha, 1969 Camaro, 10.001* ET, 10.04 Dail-In, 135.90 mph

- Muscle V8: Liko Pereira, 1990 Mustang, 12.198 ET, 12.13 Dail-In, 111.37 mph; Tyler Clark, 2020 Mustang GT, 12.232 ET, 12.18 Dail-In, 115.75 mph
- ▶ Sport Compact: Brandon Fujishige, 2018 Cadillac ATS-V, 12.376 ET, 12.24 Dail-In, 93.23 mph; Bernie Remigio, 1991 Honda, 12.870 ET, 12.67 Dail-In, 106.23 mph
- ▶ Super Pro: Rob Nelson, 1981 Trans Am, 10.280 ET, 10.27 Dail-In, 130.40 mph; Taylor Montemayor, 1986 S-10, 10.173* ET, 10.20 Dail-In, 124.72 mph
- ▶ Street: Jase Chikahiro, 2000 Civic, 15.083 ET, 14.75 Dail-In, 74.17 mph; Robert Quayle, 1994 Civic, 15.355 ET, 14.30 Dail-In, 91.78 mph
- ▶ Bike ET: Adam Beetles, 2009 Kawasaki ,11.716 ET, 11.57 Dail-In, 116.11 mph; Kahale Kaleiohi, 2008 Suzuki, 11.416 ET, 11.25 Dail-In, 121.87 mph
- ▶ Jr Dragster (1/8 mile): Ryan Medeiros, 2007 half-scale, 8.988 ET, 8.97 Dail-In, 73.78 mph; Shalia Vierra, 2014 half-scale, 8.328* ET, 8.36 Dail-In, 78.61 mph



COURTESY OF ROB NELSO

Taylor Montemayor big winner at drag races on Saturday, Aug. 12, 2023. Pictured with father, Guy Montemayor, left, and grandfather, Glen Montemayor, right.